The Piney Gir Country Roadshow--Jesus Wept MP3

Add to Cart:


Piney Gir taunts traditional country music with a big city edge. Jesus Wept is a nod to Piney's strict religious upbringing and her urge to walk the line between naughty and nice. There comes a time when everyone should question their faith and Piney (with the help of her trusty Roadshow) has channelled that into a record. A record that's a little bit country, a little bit rock 'n' roll, and a whole lot of attitude.

Jesus Wept is more than a froth of petticoats in a fresh summer field, it's Ingmar Bergman's "Seventh Seal" twisted through the eyes of a local drunk at the truck stop honky tonk. It's fun but it's dark and you don't know if you should like it so much but you do, so have another whiskey.

Previously, Piney has been compared to her heroes like Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn, Tammy Wynette; she's been hailed an "indie Dolly Parton". But this album is more Emmy Lou Harris in her Graham Parsons days, it's little girl lost. It's the devil in disguise and the devil looks good.

This album sees Piney grow up and face hard facts; hard facts that can make many a country song that much better. "'A tear in my beer' ain't the half of it," says Piney.

Jesus Wept is Piney's book of revelations. And she's taking you with her to heaven and back.

Track List:
01. 40 Days and Nights
02. I Was Born In a Thunderstorm
03. The Sheriff of San Miguel
04. Master/Mistress
05. Fast Cryin'
06. Lucky Me
07. Claw Machine
08. Imaginary Baby
09. Dog 'N' Bone
10. Great Grey Belly
11. I'm Better Off Without A Piece of a Shell of a Man
12. Fly South
13. Pray I Never Wake To Tell


Copyright © 2019 Greyday Records